Gobble, Gobble.

I guess I should do my obligatory “What I’m Thankful For” post since everyone on Facebook has inundated my feed with “Day 1-28” reasons they’re thankful (which I find SO annoying and stupid).

I’m not a Thanksgiving fan.  I eat the same plate every year.  The ONLY reason I love Thanksgiving is because it’s a time when families can get together and have lots of fun and eat.  When I was younger, I loved when my family would get together. But the older I’ve got, the more selfish they became and our Thanksgiving meals haven’t been as memorable.  When they’re good, they’re good. When they’re not, they’re really not.

I have such an idyllic dream of what I want my Thanksgiving to be when I get Norman-Rockwell-Thanksgiving-thanksgiving-2927689-375-479married.  I hope that he comes from a big, loud family that gets together and spends the day together.  I know, not every family has the perfect Thanksgiving. But it makes me sad that I’m spending my actual day at home, with my sister, having a chicken with sides instead of with a big family watching the parade or the football game or hearing the pitter patter of kids feet running around.  I swear my kids will never fell the way I do on Thanksgiving or Christmas.

So, I am going to do the non-traditional thankful list this year.

I am thankful…..

1) That I have asthma. It reminds me that every breath I’m given is given by God.

2) I am overweight.  It shows that I have never been in need or have gone a day that I haven’t had a meal to eat.

3) My hair is thinning.  Reminds me that beauty is vain.

4) I only have 160 friends on Facebook versus the 400+ I started with.  It’s about the quality not the quantity.

5) I am unhappy at my church.  Because it shows that I want something much more than what I’m getting.

6) That I am frustrated with my career.  Again, because it reminds me that I am a dreamer — and I want so much more than just this.

7) For my Honda Civic, that takes a few minutes to start, and is missing a hubcap.  I have a car to get me from Point A to Point B.

8) That the heater gets too hot in my house, even at 70, because at least I am warm at night.

9) That I get irritated with people.  I don’t take anyone’s bullsh*t.

10) That I watch too much tv.  I need to remember to relax and unwind when I’m spending all my time working.

11) That I have habits and hang-ups that make me feel shame and guilt.  Reminds me that I am imperfect and forces me to fully depend on God for grace and mercy.  And His forgiveness — daily.

Happy Thanksgiving, readers. I wish for you what I wish for myself — a day filled with family, loved ones, food, games, loud laughter, and memories to keep forever.

Leave a Reply

