Saturdays with a 30 year old.

I wish I could say 14 days later that I’ve solved my “bossman Bing” blues by going out and having tons of fun with other 30-year olds.

But that’s not the case.

Although, in my defense, last weekend was our Fall Break and I spent it in DC with some family friends.  We had a great time, despite the government shutdown (which meant no monuments for us) and being rained on for 4 straight days.  Of course as SOON as we left, the rain stopped and the government re-opened.

Story of my life.

And then I looked at how I spent my day today and I just hate my life even more.

I’ve literally spent ALL day doing laundry and lesson plans.  The only breaks I’ve taken is to eat meals and to take a brief, 30-minute nap while waiting for said laundry.  And I’m reading everyone’s statuses and most of them are  out at football games or parks and making all these memories with their families/friends.   But I’m the a-hole sitting at home WORKING.  And I’m working at the same effing job they are!  Why am I killing myself here?

I’ll officially be 30 for 6 months tomorrow, and I’m halfway through this age and I’ve done nothing of any worth.  My life is my job. My job is my life.  And this blog is becoming the unhappiest place on earth, because all I do is complain.  So I’m totally becoming THAT girl.   The one that you unfollow on FB because her posts are so depressing.

You know, I never considered myself a city girl.  When someone asks me if I could see myself moving to a city, I always say no, because I like the quiet of suburbia.   But one thing I felt after being in DC was invigorated.  I was excited to walk around and take the metro.  I loved the idea of having something to do every weekend, and it being FREE.  I was already thinking of how I would plan out which monument/museum I would go to  or how I could walk to some quaint little coffee shop or restaurant to do work and maybe on the weekends take a drive to Virginia if I wanted.

So DC is in my list of places I could potentially go.   I have to work out the living arrangements.  And the work arrangements.

I wonder if VP Biden is hiring?  I would be an awesome secretary.

Leave a Reply

