The Garbage Disposal

I don’t consider myself a “handy” person.  I am tech savvy.  I am fond of organizing.  I am really good at making lists and schedules. But fixing things?  Negative.  So when our garbage disposal broke down months ago, I wasn’t too pleased.  I’ve lived in this house for 4 years and haven’t needed real maintenance, by the grace of God.  I needed a plumber once, 2 or 3 years ago, to replace a bathtub faucet.  Our air conditioner stopped working (due to dirt that had accumulated in 4 years) so we had a guy come check that out.  But for the most part, we haven’t needed much repairs DoubleSinkDrainaround here.  Thank God.   But then this dumb garbage disposal stopped working.

First, it got something stuck in there and made this horrible grinding noise.  So we just quit using it.   Then, suddenly it decided to start working again.  It was a Christmas miracle!  But, a couple of weeks later, it totally burned out.  It was over and done. So, we knew we would have to call someone to come fix it.  Who to call?  My dad has this disease of calling the most random, the most cheap, repairmen.  I’m not saying spend $$$ to fix something, but please don’t call some guy who has absolutely no training or is by no means qualified to run a business, let alone repair something.  Sorry, I need someone a little more reputable because I don’t have the luxury of spending money every few weeks because he didn’t fix it right the first time.

So, I did a FB call and asked my friends to give me some names.  Instead of names, though, they told me I could fix it myself.

Clearly, they just met me yesterday.

Me?  Fix a garbage disposal?  When did everyone become such comedians?

Then a friend messaged me and asked me what’s wrong and gave me some suggestions on what I could do, if I wanted to try to fix it on my own.

I threw the idea around for a little bit.  One thing I learned about in California was that I needed to become more self-sufficient.  Somehow, I’ve allowed myself to become reliant, even though I so desperately want to be my own.   So I decided, I’m going to bite the bullet and do it. I am going to fix the garbage disposal.

And that’s exactly what I did!

I fixed it!  I fixed the garbage disposal.  I know that’s not a big deal to some of you, but for me that’s a red-letter day in my book. It just proved to me that I COULD take care of myself.  This little thing that really isn’t that hard to fix, I fixed it.  This fear that I have that I need HELP to do things, even the most measly tasks, I am starting to realize that it was just something I created in myself.  Something that was only perpetuated by my environment.

It may be just a garbage disposal to you.  But to me, it’s just a small pit-stop on the road to discover who I really am and what I can REALLY do.

Leave a Reply

